## COLLEGE OF JUSTICE, SAFETY, AND MILITARY SCIENCE

Dr. Derek Paulsen, Dean Stratton 354-A (859) 622-3565

Dr. Scott Hunt, Associate Dean Stratton 354-B (859) 622-3565

www.justice.eku.edu (http://www.justice.eku.edu)

The College of Justice, Safety & Military Science at Eastern Kentucky University is one of the largest of its type in the United States and is one of the six colleges that comprise the academic structure of the University. Within the College of Justice, Safety & Military Science is the School of Justice Studies, the School of Safety, Security, & Emergency Management, and the Department of Military Science and Leadership (Army ROTC). Faculty in the College are nationally and internationally known for their teaching, research, and service.

The Commonwealth of Kentucky named the College of Justice, Safety & Military Science as the first Program of Distinction at Eastern Kentucky University in 1998. The Program of Distinction has funded renovations for a new Stratton annex, Ashland Building, and Perkins Building, new degree programs, upgraded classrooms, and computer labs, provided additional research opportunities for faculty and students, as well as scholarship opportunities for students majoring in programs offered by the college.

Associate, baccalaureate, and master's degree programs are offered by the College of Justice, Safety and Military Science. Many programs are also available online.

The College is committed to a career ladder concept by providing opportunities for students enrolled in or completing associate (two-year) degree programs to transfer to a corresponding baccalaureate (four-year) program with little or no loss of credit.

Most programs in the College are housed in the Stratton Building, an outstanding and unique facility that includes two annexes, a remodeled shared entrance; renovated student commons and classrooms with new technology, a 250-seat auditorium, two computer labs, and a cafeteria. The Fire Science programs have additional offices, classrooms, and labs in Ashland Building and the Emergency Medical Care program has offices, classrooms, and labs in the Stratton Annex.

The Department of Military Science and Leadership (Army ROTC) is housed in the Weaver Building. In addition, EKU has an agreement with the University of Kentucky Aerospace Studies Program for EKU students to be in the Air Force ROTC program on UK's campus.

## **Admission to the College**

Students seeking admission to The College of Justice, Safety & Military Science must meet general University requirements and should indicate their intention to major in a program of the College.

After being admitted to the College, a student will be assigned to a professional advisor, in the Academic & Advising Center, who will assist in selecting the proper courses leading to the desired degree.

## **Degree Requirements**

General University degree requirements appear in Section Four of this Catalog, and specific requirements for each of the degree programs offered by the College of Justice, Safety & Military Science appear below; both sets of requirements must be met by students completing associate and baccalaureate programs as well as the minor in the Army ROTC program. Unless otherwise specified, all programs in the College of Justice, Safety & Military Science require a grade of "C" or better for all required major and supporting courses. See the program descriptions under each department for specific major and minor requirements. Common to all programs is the Student Success Seminar.

## **Major and Minor Credit Minimum**

Unless otherwise specified, regardless of the advanced standing under which the student may have been admitted or what credits have transferred, 18 hours of advanced course work (courses numbered 300 or above) applied for credit toward the major subject for a baccalaureate degree, nine hours of advanced course work applied for credit toward the major subject for an associate degree, and six hours of advanced course work toward major subject for a minor must be earned at Eastern.